Speeding Toward Heartbreak

Once again, I am late with the Sunday post (obvi!).  I clearly backdated this post! Ha!

Red Flamingo and I went to a gay speed dating event the other week.  I’d met the Executive Director (ED) of a non-profit organization at the Onyx Party during International Mr. Leather over Memorial Day Weekend.  Of course, I was one of very few white people at this event, and of course I ended up knowing more of the black men in the room than the black guys I was with!  And of course they accused me of sleeping with all of them!  Ha!  Only one of them, though!  Ha!  Anyway, ED gave me a postcard for the speed dating and I convinced Red Flamingo to go with me the next month.  I wish I’d flirted a little more with ED, but it was a hectic night and we rushed out to the next party.

Red Flamingo and I were expecting something awkward.  We expected to have funny horror stories to tell, but it actually turned out to be quite cute.  And the free food was AWESOME:  jerk chicken, plantains, beans & rice, and a chocolate fondue fountain.  The organizers said they refused to just get a pizza.  There was free testing happening onsite as well.  It was a cute event that brought the community together.  Once again, I was the only white dude.  There was no potential love interest, but there were potential friends to be made.

This was only the second or third time they’d done the event, so it wasn’t very organized.  There were some improvements needed, and ED asked us to email him if we had any suggestions.  Some of the fellas had been to the other events.  I had a great time meeting new folks, and had great conversation with two of them in particular.  I feel like it’s a cute event for the gay community, especially those of color.  So after the 4th of July weekend, I decided WTF, Ima send him some feedback.  I also thought WTF, and told ED that he could share my info with those two guys if they’re looking for friends.  I also thought WTF and told ED that one of the main reasons I went to the speed dating event was because I was hoping I’d run into him!  He never responded to my email!  Ha!  No skin off my back, but I’m just in this place in life where I just don’t see the point in not living my life to the fullest and taking chances!

Leave a Reply

