Making Connections

Here are the connections I’m able to make between my classes. I’ve learned that mundane tasks in a show usually mask something deeper between the characters. In playwriting class, we learned that the more specific you make something, the more universal it becomes. For example, if I wrote a scene about a couple arguing over who’s going to change over the laundry, the audience would probably sense that the argument is about more than just the laundry. It goes deeper. In improve class, we learned something similar. We were working on space object work (holding imaginary items in your hand) and were taught that we should NOT talk about the task at hand. If I’m “folding laundry” in a scene, the audience will be able to tell that by my actions, so there’s no need for me to talk about it. The audience wants to see the drama between the two characters.

Leave a Reply

