Network Boost

My weekend was filled to the brim with professional development activities as well as a few parties!  I worked Box Office at the Piccolo Theatre this weekend.  I volunteered to help set up for a Gala Brunch (I’ve never heard of a morning gala?!) for the Illinois Safe Schools Alliance.  AND I started my new playwriting class at Chicago Dramatists (paid for by a grant!).  The common theme that I noticed for myself this weekend was that I see the same people at every event I go to.  And not every one of my events is theatre related.  Some of them are youth related, yet I still see the same people.  So it makes me wonder if I’m in these same inner circles as all of these professionals, why am I not on the same level as any of them?  I’m great at connecting with people, and meeting new people, and schmoozing.  But how do I take my networking to the next level?  How do I get a job like these other professionals?

Leave a Reply

