Opening Night Revelation

Last night I went with my usual play date and we saw the opening night of Sweet Bird of Youth starring Diane Lane.  It wasn’t necessarily my favorite show that I’ve seen at the Goodman, but it was good enough to sit through for 3 hours (unlike another show I will not mention).  It was also good because got to network with other artists at the reception before I whisked myself off to bed.  At the reception and on the way home my friend and I started discussing the directing choices and the playwright.  And we started comparing other writers and directors and actors, and I realized that my professional development this year has really paid off.  I’m learning a lot about my craft through other artists.  Even though I was not completely thrilled by the show itself, it did it’s job as art and got me to create a conversation about it. 

Leave a Reply

