Weekend Warrior

On my camping trip this weekend, I started reading about Walter Gropius and the Bauhaus.  I think I attended this school in another lifetime because I believe in so many of the same principles.  The craftsman IS an artist.  Art is NOT a luxury, it’s a necessity.  Art should be taught alongside core academic courses.  I personally would take that statement even further to say that art can be used to teach the core academic courses. 

This reading was all between activities at a fun-filled weekend at Camp Echo in Michigan.  NEVER have I been on a trip where 80 students not once started trouble.  We must’ve been doing something right.  Plus, the beautiful weather didn’t hurt either. 

Leave a Reply

