Still Reading One Play a Week

So I just picked up Humana Festival ’93 The Complete Plays from the library.  Can’t wait to read all 9 scripts, although I already did one of the shows in college.  The Humana Festival holds a special place in my heart, because it’s a new works fest in Louisville, Kentucky where I’m from.  Well, that’s where I claim to be from, but I’m actually from the burbs of Louisville.  I helped stage manage Keely & Du in college, so I’m already familiar with that play.  And the funny thing is, I’m only a few degrees away from Poof! and Watermelon Rinds as well because those are by playwrights who have both had successful shows at The Goodman Theatre here in Chicago, where I used to work.  Written by Lynn Nottage and Regina Taylor respectively, I’m excited to read those plays as well because those ladies are very well known here in the Second City.  I can’t wait to start reading them all!

Leave a Reply

