Dance of the Orchestra

Last night I listened to the best music I’ve never heard, as the Principal Guest Conductor Nicholas Kraemer put it.  There’s something so true about that statement. Whether you listen to classical music or not, it has paved the way for music today and can sometimes go unappreciated by younger generations.  I went with a friend to listen to Handel & Haydn performed by Music of the Baroque  at the Harris Theater last night.  It’s been a long time so it was a nice change to listen to a concert of the sort.  It took me back to my days in the band and orchestra and chorus.  By no means, do I compare myself to these professionals.  I was playing instruments in elementary school, and I was definitely no child prodigy like Joshua Bell.

We had seats quite close to the stage, which can be great for some shows and terrible for others.  From our perspective, we could only see a few of the musicians.  Granted it was a concert, so most of the audience had their eyes closed just listening anyway.  But for me, an artistic mutt who has blended different art forms together my whole life, the dancer inside came out, and I was enthralled by the dance of the orchestra–every bow bobbing and weaving almost like little meerkats in synchronization, every finger furiously plucking away at the strings in rhythm, and the solo violinist who contorted his torso in extreme passion as he played.

As I aforementioned, though, you don’t see a lot of younger people listening to classical music.  My friend and I were probably the youngest people in the nearly sold out audience last night, so who’s going to listen to the music after our generation?  How do we appeal to the youth?  I fear that many theatres face the same problem, but that’s a topic for another day.

P.S.  The last blog’s title was a song from Pippin  by Stephen Schwartz and Roger O. Hirson.

Leave a Reply

