Jobless Professional?

I often debate with myself whether or not I’m actually a theatre professional when I have no job to prove that I am. I mean, I work on productions here and there, but by no means do I have full-time work. I guess that’s where the word “artist” comes in. I love the word, but it doesn’t really do my wallet any good nor does it boost my confidence as I push 30 years of age with no career started!! The term artist is also very vague—this could mean that I’m a designer or director or even a performer. Having said that, though, I guess it’s still a great word to describe me since I have worked on many different aspects of a show in many different instances.

To outsiders, that also seems to be my problem: I can’t make up my mind on what I wanna do! I don’t see that as holding me back, though. I’m gonna use it as a motivator to do it all. I have spent many days in the past trying to convince myself that I have to pick one thing to do for the rest of my life. But times have changed, and everyone seems to be wearing multiple hats these days. Like Woody Allen, Lady Gaga is now directing her own videos. Usher not only sings, he dances and acts as well. Half of the Country Music Industry has crossed over into the Pop Realm. Don’t even get me started on all of the things that Tyra or Oprah has done! So why is it not acceptable for me to want to do it all?

That’s why I’ve dedicated 2012 as my year for Professional Development. I’m challenging myself to stick with my New Year’s Resolution through to the end of the year (or at least until the end of the world, whichever comes first). This means I’m going to take classes in Improvisation, Dance, and Writing. It also means that I’m going to apply for some grants and learn more about Social Media. That’s the very reason I’m starting this blog. I’m hoping to increase my knowledge of all this new technology that’s free to me. I would be foolish not to take advantage of it. I’m even going to look into some Grad School Programs.

What excites me the most about my resolution, though, is the fact that I’m going to read ONE PLAY A WEEK and listen to ONE BROADWAY SOUNDTRACK A MONTH!! I’m going to keep a running list online, but I’m always down for suggestions!

I hope you will join me as I search for great new posts to read and vlogs to watch. Maybe you can challenge yourself to become a stronger professional along with me.

Leave a Reply

